Posted by: Nancy | September 12, 2007

Life can take some interesting turns…

We’ve been having really bad money problems this year.   It’s gotten to the point where I need to go back to work or we truly aren’t going to make it.   

I used to be a medical transcriptionist, and could easily go back to that at any time.  But as I started moving forward with doing that, something was pulling at me.  It just didn’t feel right.  I thought at first that I was just dragging my feet because I just didn’t want to do it.   So I kept praying and slowly moving forward with it. 

I decided to see what was out there as far as making money with my blog.  I looked into doing Payperpost, advertising, etc.  I know it is controversial to make money with your blog, but the truth is even a couple hundred dollars a month for us will make the difference between being able to scrape through another month or getting our house foreclosed on.  So it’s gotten about as real as it can get around here.  Controversy or not, we need the money. 

I was all ready to do it.  But I hit a roadblock – wordpress.com (unlike wordpress.org) does not allow any money-making on the blogs they host.   I could easily move it to wordpress.org IF I find somewhere else to host it, such as a hosting service or put it on one of the servers my husband has at the house. 

I really didn’t want to make even more work for my husband – he’s an IT guy and he’s already up to his eyeballs in work as it is.  I also didn’t want to spend the money to pay for a hosting service and still have my husband possibly have to do more work to keep my site up and running.   I planned to talk to him about it to see if it was something he was willing to help me on, and then there were layoffs at his work.  He made it through, but it was really stressful for him.  So I kept needing to put it off. 

It was at that point that someone who belongs to a message board I go to put up a note saying that she was up against a deadline on some small informational articles she needed to write.  She asked if anyone would be willing to give it a shot and do some ghostwriting for her.   She was able to pay a small amount of money to anyone who wanted to help.  She pays via Paypal and would pay half the money as a deposit, and half when the article was complete.  I jumped at the chance. 

 So, I’m a writer now.  For actual money.  It’s not much money, but enough to make a difference.  I’ve made $40 so far, and have a project that I’m working on for her for another $60.  That’s $100 in two weeks.  At this rate, I will probably be able to make that $200 a month that will make such a big difference for us.   

She has also been great enough to let me know how she got started and given me some ideas on how I can get clients of my own.  I’m really enjoying the work.  It turns out I’m pretty good at it too.  As I learn more about how this all works, I’ll post about it. 

Even if I only ever make this $100 and nothing more for the rest of my life, I can always say that I am a writer.  That means so much to me.  If it weren’t for our financial situation, it would mean more to me than the money. 

 Sometimes you know God is there with you and you lean on Him all the time and feel His strength holding you up, but He just has been quiet for a while.  Then all of a sudden – Boom!   It’s like He waves His hand and your life is suddenly completely different. 

 Nancy

Responses

  1. You’re a writer – how cool. I hope that works out for you – some people make a good amount of money writing online and/or using their blogposts. I’ve got an inexpensive host if you need one – she hosts all of mine and its like $12 for 6 months – cheap! Hope to chat with you soon.

  2. I was going to ask you about what hosting service you used once you got back. $12 for 6 months is even something we can afford. I’ll email you if I decide to do that. I’m working on a sample report right now for a company I hope to freelance for. Their focus is totally up my alley – summarizing reviews and resources into a nice, neat little report. Love it! :)

    By the way, your blog still won’t let me post a comment. I’m glad you’re back and everything went well with getting everything packed up.

  3. Good for you!! Google hosting companies-you should find something cheap. I decided against wordpress for the same reason about not being able to post ads and also it’s not very configurable like blogger is. Blogger makes it so easy to add and change things, especially affilate links. I still try not to download my page, just with things I like.
    I wish you continued success!!!! Oh and also great blog! I’m a fellow villager if you are wondering how I found you :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

