Posted by: Nancy | June 5, 2007

Pool Spiders

We just moved into our new house in February.  Not long after that, we noticed that the pool was a favorite watering hole for big frigging spiders.   They climb down the grout lines. 

Unlike most people, I’m not scared of spiders persay.  They give me the heebie-jeebies because I don’t want one ON me, but I don’t find them scary.  

 These spiders kinda freak me out though.  They’re huge.  I’m not kidding.  I swear one day they’re going to organize a posse and take the dog hostage. 

 My husband discovered that they can also float in the pool, alive, for days.   The first time he found one, he decided to wait a few days before fishing it out, only to discover that it was still alive.  <<<shudder>>> 

 Last week when my in-laws were over, my husband had a floating pool spider he wanted to show off to his mom.  (Yea, we’ve gotten a little weird about this.  We’re like people who have snakes and offer to let you feed them.)

 So anyway, he showed it to her and then scooped it up with the pool net so that he could smoosh it.  Well he put the pool net down the wrong way and the spider j-j-jumped up out of the net into the pool, r-ran across the water (!!!), went up a grout line and back into the bushes. 

 I was still reasonably okay until I found out they can jump.   And run on water. 

 I can pretty much guarantee that it won’t be long until I freak out when I see a spider.    Although this is the first time I’ve lived anywhere in this area where there weren’t lots of black widows.  Maybe the pool spiders eat them.  Hmm… 

Nancy

Responses

  1. Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging!!!! Whenever I see that someone links to me, I try to check out the site to make sure it’s not anything “weird”. You’re not weird. In fact, you are right on the money about these POOL SPIDERS! I found one at the bottom of my in-laws pool last week. Creeped me out. Don’t feel much like swimming now.

  2. Thanks for the welcome! And the heads up on the possibility of weird people linking. I love your blog. I hope you enjoy mine as it develops. 🙂

    Nancy


Leave a Reply

Categories

