Posted by: Nancy | June 25, 2007

Cupcakes!

cupcake1b.jpg

I’ve had varied luck with gluten-free cake.   Some of the chocolate cakes are good.   Gluten-Free Pantry’s Angel Food Cake is, frankly, perfect.  But I haven’t been able to find a yellow or white cake mix that I really like.   Some have a pretty good texture, but not quite there on flavor.  Others have a good flavor, but have a texture problem.  Some even have a weird aftertaste. 

Not long after I went gluten-free, I started really paying attention to the site Top Secret Recipes http://topsecretrecipes.com .  I’ve been subscribed there for years.  Mostly it was just interesting to get the recipes to see what the secret was, but I never tried making anything. 

After I went gluten-free, that site gained new meaning for me.  My first attempt at a recipe from that site was Nabisco Honey Maid Graham Crackers.   It’s one of many Free recipes that are on that site.  I’ll blog about that another time, but if you want to see how I modified it, it’s at Top Secret Recipes, under the comments for that recipe.  http://www.topsecretrecipes.com/recipedetail.asp?sessionid=&login=yes&id=70&page

The graham crackers are one of many free recipes on Top Secret Recipes. 

Most of the recipes on Top Secret Recipes you have to purchase.  Stay with me here…  It’s ONLY 79 cents.  It’s well worth it.   With all the work that Todd Wilbur puts into cloning these recipes, 79 cents is a bargain. 

Today, I bought the recipe for Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe Yellow Cake Mix. 

Can I just say Oh. My. God. 

cupcake2.jpg

It’s exactly perfect. 

Exactly. Perfect. 

I can’t even believe it. 

Apparently the magic of the soft, pillowy texture isn’t in the wheat flour.  It’s somewhere else in either the rest of the ingredients, or the method, that gives you that specific Moist Deluxe magic. 

The only thing I modified was the flour, and I added xanthan gum.  Everything else was just verified gluten-free ingredients.   For the three cups of cake flour I used my favorite mix of gluten-free flour, which is on page 6 of Annalise Roberts’ book – Gluten-Free Baking Classics. 

For three cups you need: 

2 cups Extra Finely Ground Rice Flour (made by Authentic Foods) 

2/3 cup Potato Starch (not potato flour)

1/3 cup Tapioca Flour (tapioca starch is the same thing in this case)

3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum

Mix all of this together thoroughly.  I use a whisk to get it all mixed.  

Other than that, follow the recipe as directed. 

cupcake3.jpg 

Last Bite.

~ Nancy

Responses

  1. YUMMO- I love cake and too funny cause I made one yesterday!! Not gluten-free, but still tasty- even used this whipped icing which tasted more like cool whip than icing.

  2. That sounds really good. Jenny doesn’t like cake, so all she does is lick the icing off. That’s okay though. More for mommy! 😉

  3. Our kids do the same thing- lot’s of icing they say!


Leave a Reply

Categories

