Posted by: Nancy | July 3, 2007

Okay, I’m back now. For the most part.

I got glutened last week.   (For those who aren’t familiar with the term, here’s the skinny:   I’ve got a food intolerance to gluten, which is in wheat, rye, barley and oats.   When I’m exposed to it all hell breaks loose.  The reaction can last anywhere from a few days to a couple weeks, depending.)

I’m just starting to feel back to normal.   I get really ADD-ish and distractable, as well as really super tired and brain-foggy.   So anything that requires stringing two thoughts together has been uh, hmm…  (is that two thoughts already?) trying to think of a word.  Not difficult…  Impossible!  Yes.  Stringing two thoughts together has been impossible.  And that’s my final answer. 

So we’re hosting Fourth of July for the first time ever.  Which is oh-so-not-good when your thoughts flit away at the turn of any shiny object.  I’m just thankful I planned out the menu a few weeks ago and didn’t wait until the last minute.  

Grocery shopping this morning was something to see.  I forgot my list (of course) so I was criss-crossing the grocery store like I had never shopped before.   Then I had to stand over in a corner and go through my cart making sure I got everything.   Because I’m not going to the grocery store on the 3rd of July.  I’m not.  You can’t make me.   If I’m missing something, we’re just not going to have it. 

Later today I went to the craft store to get all the decoratey stuff for the two cakes I’m making (two birthday parties as well as the 4th of July).   Repeated the same shopping technique from the grocery store.   Got some decorations for the house on one side of the store.  Back to the other side for cake stuff.  Wandered around the kids section.  Decided against decorations for the house.  Put those back.  Looked at colored pencils.  Got those.  Got inspired on a theme for the second cake so back to the cake area.  Decided to get a different house decoration.  Put the colored pencils back.  Put decoration back.  Got some more cake decorating stuff because I couldn’t remember what cake decorating tips I had.  Because again, I’m not going shopping on the 3rd of July. 

So I finally went to check out.  The guy at the checkout said, “I’ve been watching you criss-cross the store for an hour.  I was about ready to send someone in after you.” 

LOL!

If he only knew… 

Nancy

Responses

  1. Hey Nancy- Hope you ALL have a wonderful birthday/Independence Celebration. Give everyone our love 🙂

  2. Thanks! You guys too! I hope you had a great day.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

