Posted by: Nancy | August 2, 2007

Gluten-Free Graham Crackers

p1000710.jpg

 My gluten-free graham crackers are based on one of the free recipes at Top Secret Recipes .   Since it’s one of his free recipes, I’ll go ahead and post the whole recipe.  I wrote a post about some of the other Top Secret Recipes here

If you’ve ever worked with gluten-free dough, you’ve discovered that most doughs aren’t as thick as gluteny doughs.  They can also be very difficult, if not impossible, to work with.  I created the rolling technique that I use here so I could have rolled cookies, such as cut-out Christmas cookies.  It ended up being a great way to store cookie dough.  I can just pull one out of the freezer when I need it.  It also keeps me or my kids from eating a whole batch right after it’s made.  So now, that’s what I do with all my rolled doughs. 

 To be honest, you could make this into a pretty workable dough by adding less water.  You could probably roll it out the regular way, but the method I’ve been using really makes it easy to create the square crackers without any waste or re-rolling of the dough. 

 Gluten-Free Graham Crackers

1/3 cup shortening

3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon Sugar

3 tablespoons honey, warmed

1.5 teaspoons vanilla

3 cups Pamela’s Ultimate Baking and Pancake Mix

1/4 – 1/2 cup water

For the procedure of mixing the dough, I’m just going to link you directly to  Top Secret Recipe’s version of Nabisco Graham Crackers.    

I only have a couple of notes in addition to the recipe as written for making the dough.  It turns out that graham flour is just a course grind of whole wheat flour.  Pamela’s Baking Mix is really good with duplicating the appearance and graham-y flavor because it actually has almond meal in it, which is where the dark brown flecks in the picture come from.  Pamela’s Baking Mix also has the salt, baking powder, baking soda AND the ever- important GF baking ingredient – xanthan gum.  When you get to the part where you put the water in to bring the dough together, go easy on the water.  I start out with a 1/4 cup and see how it goes from there.  

To roll your dough out, you will need a gallon-sized zip-top bag, a one-cup measuring cup and a rolling pin.  In the pictures, I put a white towel down just so you can see the dough.  I actually did everything directly on the cutting board and not the towel. 

 1.  Fill a one cup measuring cup with dough.  Put it inside the ziplock bag and squash it down with your hands.   Do not seal the bag yet. 

p1000698.jpg

2.  Using the rolling pin and your hands, work the dough down into the bottom corners. 

p1000699.jpg

3.  Using the rolling pin and your hands, work the dough to fill the bag.  As you get to the top of the bag, get as much of the air bubbles out and seal the bag.   You want as flat and uniform an end-product as possible, so you’ll want to roll the sealed dough back and forth, side to side until you get it as flat and uniform as you can. 

p1000700.jpg

4.  At this point, I put the dough in the freezer.  I keep a cookie sheet in the freezer just for this so I can keep it completely flat.   When you take the dough out to make the graham crackers, you’ll need to work fast because it warms up pretty quickly. 

 5.  When you’re ready to make the graham crackers, open the bag and cut down the sides and across the bottom, removing the bag from the top surface of the dough. 

pictures-08_01_2007-024.jpg 

 pictures-08_01_2007-026.jpg

6.   Flip the dough onto a greased cookie sheet, dough side down, and peel the rest of the bag off.  I usually have to work at this a bit to get the first edge off the bag so it stays in one piece. 

pictures-08_01_2007-027.jpg

7.   Now, take a pizza cutter and cut the dough into squares however big you’d like.  (Being a girl, I have to point out that the popeye arms are just a trick of the camera.  Man…  My forearm looks like a slice of pizza…!   Anyway…)

pictures-08_01_2007-029.jpg

8.  Bake them in a preheated  300 F oven for about 5-7 minutes, or until they are beginning to turn a light brown.  At this point, you’ll need to take them out of the oven and space them apart.  The spacing is how you’ll get that crisp graham crackery-ness.  If you keep them all together, you’ll end up with the outer ones having a crisp edge, and the inner ones being soft.  If they aren’t cooperating with the spacing, put them back in the oven until they firm up more and try again. 

pictures-08_01_2007-030.jpg

9.  Return them to the 300 F oven until they’re a medium golden brown.   They will still be soft at this point, but will be crisp when cool. 

pictures-08_01_2007-031.jpg

Enjoy! 

 Nancy

Responses

  1. Hey Nancy- I’ve tagged you for a meme!! Come by and get the details. Huggs to all 🙂

  2. Thanks!

  3. Oh my gosh!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I have been trying to find gluten free graham crackers (or a recipe for them) so I can make graham cracker crumbs for my favorite cookies, Hello Dollies (aka 7-Layer Bars). My mom has always made them every Christmas since I was a kid and I have been missing them. Whoo hoo! I can make them for Christmas 2008. Or maybe I won’t wait that long. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

